The Expunge processes in this article must be created by the Symphony Talent team in coordination with the client. This requires a level of knowledge and preparation to get the feature and processes built correctly. Please contact your customer service representative if you wish to expunge contacts.
Normally, contacts can 'soft' delete their records from the career site profile by selecting the Delete Account button. This will disable their information in SmashFlyX.
Contacts and others can also open Zendesk tickets with Symphony Talent to have contact data permanently removed.
SmashFlyX now has an expunge feature that can be implemented so that users and contacts can manage the permanent removal of contact information.
If implemented, when a contact selects Delete Account, this will permanently remove the contact data from the SmashFlyX system. The user will receive an email confirming this.
As part of workflow actions, Expunge Contact will be added as an action.
This allows clients to set up a workflow to alert a contact to opt-in and then expunge them if they do not after a set period of time. Here is how this workflow might work.
Whenever a contact is added organically, meaning the contact did not sign up themself through the career site but rather were added by a recruiter manually or though a bulk import, the contact will be asked to opt-in, thereby meeting increasing security requirements of GDPR and other regulations. So the workflow will be set up for any contacts added by bulk import:
or by manual creation:
The first action in the workflow will be to send the contact an email asking them to opt-in to the system. The email will contain a general opt-in form to check:
The second part of the workflow will be to expunge contacts that do not opt-in, again meeting growing security requirements that contacts must agree to have their information in our SmashFlyX system. This second trigger can be set to run a day later or 30 days later or even longer.
Any contacts that have not 'opted-in' during the grace period set will then be permanently removed from the system.